Balsamic tomato and red onion tarte and pea fritters! (NEW RECIPES #22 and #23!)

Date night was another 15 minute vegan double bill. I’ve needed an excuse to make the pea fritters for ages, and I thought they’d go nicely with this very special tarte.

The tarte itself used ready-made puff pastry, which has always produced really impressive-looking meals with a minimum of faff. The pastry bakes while you prepare the filling, in this case a fantastic mix of red onion, tomatoes and balsamic vinegar. The end result was really rich and tangy, with layers of savoury tastes that made for a very posh meal!

The pea fritters, on the other hand, were pure comfort food. Oily, stodgy and dense, they were absolutely nothing like the description that suggested bursts of fresh flavours, but for me were perhaps even better for it. I had to add a lot more peas than the recipe at first called for, as the pea ration was very stingy, but the end result was tasty!

I would make both components of this meal again, either together or separately, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

Tarte: 4/5

Fritters: 3/5

 

Leave a comment