Brown bread (NEW RECIPE #14!)

After my recent white bread success, I decided the time had come to tackle a brown loaf. Or rather, according to the bread book from which I took the recipe, I tackled a wholemeal cottage loaf.

The recipe wasn’t anywhere near as simple as the white loaf, as it started by melting butter (I used marge) and making a starter for the yeast before mixing. However, it wasn’t too complicated, and it rose beautifully.

I completely disregarded the shape suggestion of two squashed balls on top of one another (which seems to be what makes it a ‘cottage’ loaf), mainly because we use our loaves for sandwiches, where a traditional rectangle shape tends to make life easier.

The bread turned out perfectly, so I would have no qualms using this recipe again.

Rating: 4/5.

 

 

Leave a comment